Hospice, News

Hospice tip: A common core among measurement tools

Although QAPI, HIS, and CAHPS may seem like disparate measurement tools, they are built around a single framework. Developed by the National Quality Forum (NQF), this framework is used across th entire care continuum.

The NQF guides the development of measures that assess various aspects of healthcare providers care delivery, including processes, outcomes, patient perceptions, and organizational structures. Onc a measure is endorsed by NQF, providers and government agencies can use it for public reportin and quality improvement.

NQF-endorsed measures are arranged into five distinct categories:

  1. Process
  2. Outcome
  3. Patient experience
  4. Structural
  5. Composite

These measures form the foundation of many federal quality-reporting programs, but they can als be harnessed in hospices’ internal initiatives.